eDSM (electronic data sharing model)
eDSM differs from Care Data. eDSM is the sharing of your clinical data between the various clinicians you may come into contact with (your GP, the local hospital, nurses etc). This data is only used for your direct patient care. Care Data is the Governments plan to share your data with both clinical and non clinical bodies and outside agencies (public and private sector companies). This data will be used for what is called secondary uses. eDSM requires your permission for your data to be shared. You nay be asked about this the next time you come into contact with. The surgery, hospital or other medical organisation, e.g. district nurse. With Care Data you will be automatically opted in unless we receive from you instructions not to do so. This is scheduled to happen within the next couple of months. If you do not wish to have your data shared with outside organisations please contact us here at the surgery as soon as possible so that we can opt you out.
eDSM (electronic data sharing model)
Today, electronic records are kept in all the places where you receive healthcare. These places can usually only share information from your records by letter, email, fax or phone. At times, this can slow down your treatment and mean information is hard to access. Here at the Surgery,we use a unique computer system called SystemOne that has the ability to share our electronic records across different healthcare care services.
We are telling you about this so that you can think about your choices:
- You can choose to share your electronic record with other care services
- You can choose not to share your electronic record with other care services.
Unless you instruct us differently, on Monday 2nd December 2013, we will enable your patient records to be shared with other health care services you may come into contact with.
How is your decision recorded? SystemOne has two settings to allow you to control how your information is shared:
1. Sharing OUT
This controls whether your information entered and held at Spilsby Surgery can be shared with other NHS services (i.e. made shareable).
2. Sharing IN
This controls whether information that has been made shareable at other NHS care services can be viewed by your GP or Health Care Professional at Spilsby Surgery
How does this work?
Imagine you’re receiving care from 3 different NHS services:your GP here at the Surgery, a District nurse and a smoking clinic. You want your GP and nurse to share information with each other and you want both of them to know your progress at the smoking clinic. However you don’t want the smoking clinic to see any of your other medical information.
Your sharing settings in this example would be:
The GP can share information IN and OUT
The District nurse can share IN and OUT
The Smoking clinic can only share information OUT but not IN
You will automatically be opted in for the sharing of your data with other NHS services using System One unless we are otherwise instructed by you. This will mean that information recorded here at the Surgery will be made available to other health care services. Clinicians at other services that care for you and use SystemOne will be able to see the information recorded here. For example, a district nurse who visits you would be able to see the data entered by your GP here.
If you opt out and do not wish us to share your data the clinician will be prevented from sharing the information entered here with other services caring for you.
Note: You can still request for individual entries in your patient record to be marked as ‘Private’. These will not be visible at any care service other than the one that recorded the information.
Why is this necessary?
These settings allow you to decide who can see the information on your electronic record. It also allows for joined up care across different NHS settings which gives the best care and service to you. In some serious situations, for example if you are unconscious, clinicians will be able to access your electronic record without first asking your permission. Use of this is monitored.
Don’t Forget, these settings apply to any NHS service using SystemOne where you are currently receiving care. You can also change your sharing preferences at any time – just speak to a member of reception staff who will be more than happy to help you.
What do I need to do next?
If you are happy for us to share your data with other NHS services then you do not need to do anything further. During your next visit to the Surgery, you will be given this information in leaflet form. We will add your consent to the sharing of your records once your appointment has concluded. If you would not like us to share your records then you will need to inform a member of the reception staff so that we can opt you out.
If you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact us.